The results are in for several of the Nottinghamshire constituencies, with Rushcliffe, Nottingham East, Nottingham South and Nottingham North having completed their counts.

Rushcliffe was the first to announce their results, with Ruth Edwards winning a seat for the Conservatives, taking over Ken Clarke’s position after he stepped down from the party.

All city seats have been won by Labour, with Lillian Greenwood for Nottingham East and Alex Norris for Nottingham North both retaining their position in parliament.

In Nottingham East, Labour’s Nadia Whittome won a clear majority of about 17,000 votes, unseating Independent Group for Change candidate Chris Leslie, formerly Labour’s Shadow Chancellor who left the party disagreeing with Corbyn’s leadership.

Elsewhere, at the Mansfield count, Labour candidate Sonya Ward was late and looked like she wouldn’t be turning up at all.

In the end, Ben Bradley won for the Conservatives for the Mansfield seat with a majority of 16,306.

As Labour are expected to make huge loses tonight, there’s expected to be pressure on the leader Jeremy Corbyn to resign.

Despite her victory, MP Lillian Greenwood declared tonight’s national result as ‘devastating’ for the party.

Labour Leader Jeremy Corbyn, who won his seat in Islington North for the 10th election in a row, said in his victory speech that he would not lead the party into another election.