Image Credit: Notts TV

The constituency of Sherwood is located in central Nottinghamshire and has been Conservative-led since 2010.

Sherwood constituency covers three local government authorities: the Ashfield district, parts of the Gedling borough, and the western part of the Newark and Sherwood district.

The constituency was created in 1983 and has had only three MPs. Firstly, the Conservative Andy Stewart, and then the Labour MP, Paddy Tipping in 1992. Since the 2010 general election, the constituency has been represented in the House of Commons by Mark Spencer, a Conservative MP.

Mark Spencer has won three elections, with the number of votes increasing each time. In 2010 he won with 39.2% of the vote and a majority of only 214, narrowly beating Labour’s Emilie Oldknow.

In 2015, his majority was increased by over 4,000 more votes and 45% of the vote. Again in 2017, the votes increased by almost 5,000 and had 51.5% of the constituency’s votes, a clear majority at over half.

This year, Spencer will be campaigning for a fourth term as Sherwood’s MP. His opponents will be Labour’s Jerry Hague, the Liberal Democrat’s Tim Ball, Green’s Ester Cropper and the Independent’s Simon Rood. None of these candidates has campaigned before.

In the nine elections the country has faced since the constituency was formed, the Conservatives have won five times to Labour’s four. Hague will be hoping to regain Labour control of the constituency and level that percentage.

The votes for the Sherwood constituency will take place at the Dukeries Leisure Centre in Boughton.